Dave Lowe composer of Frontier: Elite II, Starglider and Carrier Command releases new album

Album cover for "A Temporal Shift"

You may remember back in early 2015 that I mentioned Dave Lowe, video game composer on several PC games during the 1980s and early 1990s, and his daughter, Holly Jazz Lowe, launched a Kickstarter project to raise funds for a new album called "A Temporal Shift". This album was to have an orchestral cover of the Frontier: Elite II theme (a personal favourite of mine) as well as covers and reinterpretations of several old, predominantly Amiga game soundtracks. This album is finally complete and is now available for purchase!

There are 10 tracks on the album featuring remakes of music from several games native to the Amiga, Atari ST and ZX Spectrum such as Frontier: Elite II, Starglider, Beneath a Steel Sky, Carrier Command and Midwinter 2.

A full track list is below:

01 Frontier – Theme from "Frontier Elite 2"
02 Games – from "Starglider"
03 Brightest Star – Theme from "StarGlider 2"
04 Beneath A Steel Sky – The title theme from "Beneath a Steel Sky"
05 Enemy in View – from "Frontier Elite 2" Second Theme
06 Just Another Mission – Theme from "Carrier Command"
07 Electric Flag – Theme from "Incredible Shrinking Sphere"
08 The Longest Night – Theme from "Midwinter (Flames of Freedom)"
09 F1 Carrerra – Theme from "F1 Gran Prix"
10 StarBurner – Theme from "Afterburner" + "Starglider"

The soundtrack is available in MP3 and FLAC and costs £15. Physical CDs and vinyl will be available for order further down the track.

I’ve had a quick listen to all the tracks on the album and despite only recognising two of the themes on the album (i.e. the Frontier: Elite II themes) I really enjoyed what I've heard so far – it has a very retro vibe to it but in a good way. I think fans of the Elite series, retro PC gamers and even fans of 80s/90s pop in general will find something to like on this album. There’s even a smattering of what sounds like prog rock!

[ Uncle Art - A Temporal Shift Downloads Page ]