Choicest VGM - VGM #95 - The Secret of Monkey Island - Ghost Ship Shuffle

Original Soundtrack composed by: Michael Land, Barney Jones, Andy Newell and Patric Mundy

This track plays when Guybrush visits LeChuck's ghost ship, deep under Monkey Island, in a lake of lava. Guybrush is of course invisible for the whole time so that the pirates aren't aware of his presence. This particular track, more than any other on the CD version of the Monkey Island soundtrack, demonstrated what was possible with the "new" (at that time) medium. The chilling sound effect at 00:31 blew me away when I first heard it. The high production values of the tracks is probably why this game's soundtrack is etched into my memory.